Chi Epsilon Sigma- Gamma Chapter Thursday, April 15, 2021 9:15 AM EST ZOOM Meeting

The meeting was called to Order by Nancy Williams. 124 members signed in via Qualtrics.

Nancy welcomed everyone who was attending and said she hopes we can meet in person next year. Nancy described the meaning of our logo. The circle represents endless friends, the Greek Letters X(chi), E(epsilon) S(sigma) represent life, loyalty and learning and the leaves represent personal growth.

The meeting next year, assuming we can meet in person, will be in Lexington if available. Later you will receive a survey about where the meeting may be held in years after that. 2022 should be in the west region.

Nancy gave a special welcome to new members.

Georganne Collins, secretary explained that the minutes of the last meeting were lost and cannot be located. Since the last meeting she is the second person to become secretary, the immediate past secretary has left extension and the files were lost somewhere along the way. Georganne noted this should not be a problem going forward as all files are not kept in the Teams files for the fraternity.

The treasurer's report was emailed to everyone before the meeting. Sherry Stith reported a nonrestricted checking account balance of \$9,180.55. We had \$3,730.00 from member dues. The treasures report was approved by general consent.

Dr. Laura Stephenson, Associate Dean & Director of Extension, joined the meeting. She greeted the membership and thanked everyone for all their hard work during the pandemic. She told us the restrictions would lessen she hoped soon. Her mom was a staff assistant in Clinton County, so she understood our roles. She hopes we will be able to meet in person next year. She opened the floor up to questions. "What about next year, will we be able to meet in person?" "Yes, I think we will be able to meet but you may have to continue social distancing and masking up." She went on to say that the CDC is going to use extension as a vaccine training organization. "What changes do you see in staff assistant jobs, like providing more information to clients and freeing up agent? She was not sure but suggested creating a survey to the membership about how job roles have changed during the pandemic.

Nancy thanked Dr. Stephenson for all she does and for taking time to speak to the group today.

Committee Reports

Kim Campbell announced the winners of the Professional Development and Higher Education Scholarships. No applications were received for the professional development award. Seven applications were received for the higher education scholarship. Cathy Fellow, Boone County and Angela Baldauff, Kenton County received scholarships.

Robyn Edgell announced the winners of the regular awards and the special covid pandemic awards. See the following list for the nominees and winners.

Distinguished Service Award (6) Judged by Katie Alexander, FCS Agent Lorene Coots – 1st Daviess County Jeanne Adkins – 2nd Rhonda Owsley – 3rd Eileen Kopp Kelsey King Mischelle Pinkston

New Achievers Award (4) Judged by Vicki Shadrick, Ag Agent Robyn Edgell – 1st Webster County Dana Sherrell Thompson – 2nd Cathy Fellows – 3rd (2 nominations)

Outstanding Program Award (6) Judged by Katie Alexander, FCS Agent Cathy Fellows – 1st Daviess County Seth Hart – 2nd Rohdene Rollins – 3rd Janie Oliver Lorene Coots Nan Montgomery

Communications Award (6) Judged by Amanda Dame, FCS Agent Fran Hodges – 1st At Large, West Area Donna Napier – 2nd Robyn Edgell – 3rd Ashley Reynolds Beth Horn Casey Faulkner

Good Friend Award (7) Judged by Amanda Dame, FCS Agent Janie Oliver – 1st At Large, West Area Donna Napier – 2nd Ashley Marshall – 3rd (2 nominations) Angela Baldauff Joy McGinnis Rohdene Rollins Jovial Award (6) Judged by Vicki Shadrick, Ag Agent Kelly Bland – 1st (2 nominations) Webster County Sue Akers – 2nd Corene Trent – 3rd Holly Watters Rohdene Rollins

2021 COVID Award Winners

Best Mask (2) Judged by Lisa Hagman, 4-H Agent Hancock County Robyn Edgell – 1st Tina Noe – 2nd

Guideline Guru (3) Judged by Amanda Dame, FCS Agent At Large Beth Horn – 1st West Area Donna Napier – 2nd Andrew Modica – 3rd

Extending Extension (7) Judged by Vicki Shadrick, Ag Agent Webster County Janie Oliver – 1st Rohdene Rollins – 2nd Joy McGinnis – 3rd Kelly Bland Lisa Spaulding Seth Hart Dana Sherrell Thompson

Double Duty (2) Judged by Lisa Hagman, 4-H Agent Hancock County TIE Ashley Eversole – 1st Robyn Edgell – 1st

Office Sanitizer (4) Judged by Lisa Hagman, 4-H Agent Hancock County Corene Trent – 1st Beth Horn – 2nd Andrew Modica – 3rd Holly Watters

Virtually Awesome (5) Judged by Katie Alexander, FCS Agent Stephanie Meredith – 1st Daviess County Mawnie Belcher – 2nd Pam Renner – 3rd Angela Baldauff Cathy Fellows *Social Distance Butterfly (2)* Judged by Vicki Shadrick, Ag Agent Webster County Mawnie Belcher – 1st Robyn Edgell – 2nd

Technology Whisperer (5) Judged by Lisa Hagman, 4-H Agent Hancock County Ashley Marshall – 1st (2 nominations) Lorene Coots – 2nd Nancy Williams – 3rd Angela Baldauff

Nancy thanked everyone who had helped with awards. Nancy then announced a ten-minute break and then we would continue. After ten-minutes Nancy continued the meeting.

New Business

Donna Brown presented the changes to the by-laws for the election of directors.

One director from each of the 14 Extension Areas: Purchase, Green River, Lake Cumberland, Louisville, Ft. Harrod, Licking River, and Quicksand elected in even numbered years; and Pennyrile, Mammoth Cave, Lincoln Trail, Northern, Bluegrass, Northeast, and Wilderness Trail elected in odd numbered years.

6 Directors from each region, East, Central and West. The board will be made up of 18 Regional Directors, 2 Campus Directors (1 from Lexington and 1 from Princeton) and the officers for a total of 26 members.

Susan Rice made a motion to accept the changes as presented. Angela Johnson seconded the motion. Motion carried by more than a two-thirds vote.

Eileen Kopp, chairmen of the nominating committee presented the following nominees.

Fort Harrod	Marie Grimes
Quicksand	Donna Napier
University of Kentucky - Campus	Cristin Sullivan
Bluegrass	Heather Russell
Pennyrile	Kimberly Faulk
Mammoth Cave	Linda Martin
Lincoln Trail	Sue Ann McCandless
Northeast	Kim Campbell
Wilderness Trail	Carrie Adkins
University of Kentucky - Princeton	Marilyn Hooks

East Region (UK-RCARS)?	Jackie Allen
President (Vice-President from previous year)	Nancy Williams
Vice-President	Holly Watters
Secretary	Georganne Collins
Treasurer (two years)	Sherry Stith
Annalist	Robyn Edgell
Past President	Eileen Kopp

Robyn Edgell made a motion to accept the nominations. Seconded by Sherry Stith. Motion carried.

Nancy installed all the officers and directors and charged the membership with supporting them as the carry out their duties.

Nancy followed up with some closing remarks.

2022 annual Meeting will be in Lexington, April 20-22. In 2023 the meeting should be held in the West Region. If you have any suggestions for location please let your director or any board member know where you are suggesting.

A special "Thanks" to Eileen Kopp for stepping back into the role of Past President since the immediate Past President is unable to serve.

You can expect a survey next month about the meeting next year.

Nancy then opened it up to questions:

When will the by-laws changes take effect? Immediately

Can we get a shirt this year? Shirts were not offered this year since getting them to members would be too expensive.

Kim Campbell made a motion to adjourn. Seconded by Sherry Stith. The meeting adjourned at 10:45 AM EST.